ACSME

Celebrating 25 years!

ACSME 2019 registration now open!

The Australian Conference on Science and Mathematics Education is for tertiary science and mathematics educators to share ideas and keep up to date.

This conference encompasses biological sciences, chemistry, geosciences, health sciences, information technology, learning and cognitive sciences, mathematics and statistics, molecular and microbial sciences, physics and psychology as well as the various fields of the applied sciences. A Discipline Day is also attached to the Conference.

This year the conference will be hosted by the University of Sydney and the University of Technology Sydney, and will be held on 2, 3 and 4 October 2019.

Venue (Wednesday & Thursday)
University of Sydney, Abercrombie Building (H70)
Corner Abercrombie Street and Codrington Street,
Darlington NSW 2006

ACSME Welcome Function (5.30pm-7.30pm Weds 2 Oct) sponsored by Cengage Learning Australia:
Nicholson Museum – located at the southern entrance of the Quadrangle, University of Sydney

Image of the University of Sydney
Venue (Friday): University of Technology, Sydney
Building 6 (next to ABC Studios in Harris Street) and
Building 5 (next to Paddy’s Market). These buildings
are an easy 5 minute walk apart.  Lunch will be served in building 6. Discipline day program details are now available HERE!
Image of the University of Technology Sydney

25th Silver Anniversary Conference dinner

Theme: “The Element Silver”
Date: Thursday, 3rd October 2019
Venue: Doltone House, The LOFT, Jones Bay Wharf, Pirrama Rd, Pyrmont 2009  Click here for flyer!
Loft Doltone House

Conference Committee

Chair, Prof Pauline Ross (University of Sydney) pauline.ross@sydney.edu.au
Prof Manju Sharma (University of Sydney) manjula.sharma@sydney.edu.au
Prof Cristina Varsavsky (Monash) Cristina.Varsavsky@monash.edu
Prof Phil Poronnik (University of Sydney) philip.poronnik@sydney.edu.au
A/Prof Peter Meier (UTS) Peter.Meier@uts.edu.au
Ms Stephanie Beames (UQ) s.beames@uq.edu.au

Program Committee

Chair, A/Prof Louise Lutze-Mann (UNSW) l.lutze-mann@unsw.edu.au
A/Prof Elizabeth Angstmann (UNSW) e.angstmann@unsw.edu.au
Dr Diana Warren (University of Sydney) diana.warren@sydney.edu.au
Dr Samantha Clarke (University of Sydney) samantha.clarke@sydney.edu.au
Dr Reyne Pullen (UNSW) r.pullen@unsw.edu.au
Dr Leanne Rylands (WSU) l.rylands@westernsydney.edu.au
Dr Scott Cornish (University of Sydney) scor6595@sydney.edu.au 
Dr Bianca Waud (University of Sydney) bianca.waud@sydney.edu.au

Theme: Student Experience and Student Stories

The 2019 Australian Conference on Science and Mathematics Education will have a specific focus on the student experience and student stories. We are well into the 4th Industrial Revolution and in higher education we are at a point of inflexion. We can either choose business as usual and slip behind the others, or we can choose to partner with our students to provide them with the opportunities to build their capabilities to ensure that they can make significant and meaningful contributions to Australia and the world. Students in science lab

Need more information?

Click here for more detail on Sub-themes and Submissions!

Click here to download the flyer and the draft program – please post to notice boards!

View previous proceedings or contact the organisers askACSME@gmail.com for more information.

You can follow #ACSME on Twitter and Facebook! http://www.facebook.com/ACSMEconference

Click here for Twitter